Travel Ban

On June 26, 2018, the U.S. Supreme Court upheld the ban, but it had already been in effect and enforced since December 4, 2017, when the Supreme Court stayed two preliminary injunctions issued by the U.S. District Courts in Hawaii and Maryland that had partially blocked it. The travel ban limits entry to the United States by certain citizens of seven countries: Iran, Libya, North Korea, Syria, Venezuela, Yemen, and Somalia. The restrictions are country-specific, and tailored to the situation of each individual country. For example rule regarding  Iranian nationals states “…valid student (F and M) and exchange visitor (J) visas is not suspended, although such individuals should be subject to enhanced screening and vetting requirements.” Detailed information on each country named in the ban is listed on the NAFSA: Association of International Educators website.

Please contact your OISS adviser to discuss any case-specific concerns you may have about the travel ban.